Simba Hybrid Mattress Review for 2020

 

Simba is a UK-based mattress company that started out in 1979, supplying spools of thread to a mattress factory. In 2002, they branched out into mattress design and manufacturing. Simba initially sold over 1 million mattresses. However, they wanted to take it further, so they created an affordable mattress that adapts to the body and offers good support. Extensive research led to profiling more than 10 million people and 180 million body profiles. Based off the research, Simba was able to create pocket spring-memory foam hybrid mattress that ensures a good night sleep. Much like other mattress companies, Simba offers its customers free delivery and returns, as well as a 10-year warranty.

Go to website


The Simba Hybrid construction

 

The Simba Hybrid combines foam layers with pocket springs to offer a full host of different benefits. The knitted mattress cover has its own unique features.

Cover: The Simba mattress cover is hand-knitted. It is hypoallergenic and protects the foam layers from any moisture and dirt.

Top layer: Made from open-celled foam, this top layer helps prevent overheating at night. It also adds an additional layer of comfort.

Second layer: Cone-shaped springs make up the second layer. These distribute pressure across the mattress and relieve pressure.

Edge support: Foam edging reinforces the mattress to prevents sleepers from rolling off and the mattress from dipping at the edges.

Third layer: The third layer is made from foam. It provides both comfort and support.

Bottom layer: A zoned base layer ensures each part of the body is adequately supported. This layer is made from high definition foam.

 


Simba Mattress In-depth review

To offer you fair mattress reviews, we put each mattress through the same tests and score each mattress on the same criteria. We use test machines to ensure you get objective results.

  • Durability 4.1/10

High-quality mattresses usually don’t come cheap. So, when you make the investment, you want to know that it will last a long time. That’s why we test the durability of the mattresses –  so you know exactly how long your mattress will last with regular use. Ideally, you should get between 6 and 8 years of comfortable sleep before the mattress starts to show signs of wear and tear.

In our thorough durability test, where we use machines to simulate 10-years of use, the Simba Mattress performed somewhat poorly. Upon analysis of the results, we found that the mattress deteriorated significantly. We therefore awarded the Simba 4.2 out of 10 points.

  • Point elasticity  (10/10)

If you share your bed with a partner, you want your mattress to have good point elastiticy or motion isolation. A mattress that has good motion isolation will only compress in the area where pressure is applied, leaving the rest of the mattress unaffected.

The Simba mattress scored very well in this category. Our test showed that only one area of the mattress compressed when pressure was applied. The rest of the mattress was hardly affected. For this result, we awarded the mattress a full 10 out of 10 points.

  • Ergonomics and Comfort (8.5/10)

In order to assess how the mattress would support your body, particularly when you’re sleeping on your side or your back, we test how good the ergonomic abilities of the mattress are. This evaluation consists of two categories which tells us all we need to know about how  viscoelastic and ergonomic the mattress is.

Ergonomics (8.6/10)

To determine how supportive the mattress is,  we use a test machine that has 20 different weight attachments. Here, we look at how the mattress responds to these 20 indenters being lowered on the mattress surface. We then compare this measurement to an optimum result. The Simba mattress outshined other competitors in this category as the measurement deviated the least from the optimum score. For achieving such great results, we awarded the Simba an 8.6/10.

Viscoelasticity (8.0/10)

A good mattress is one that allows you to move around without much effort. To determine this, we look at how viscoelastic a mattress is. Mattresses with a high viscoelasticity tend to make moving around more difficult. This isn’t ideal, as most people twists and turns on the mattress quite frequently. We found that the Simba Mattress had a great level of viscoelastictiy, meaning you should be able to move on the mattress with relative ease. Due to Simbas great score, we awarded it 8.0/10 points.

  • Cover  (6.6/10)

Keeping your mattress clean and free from bacteria or dirt will help prolong the lifespan of your mattress. In order to measure the quality of the protective cover, we assessed how much the mattress shrunk after several washes as well as the temperature it could be washed at.

Shrinkage (7.9/10)

We  followed the instruction in the booklet and washed the mattress several times at 40 ° C.  Unfortunately, the Simba mattress cover didn’t perform as well as we  had expected as it shrank the most compared to other mattresses we had tested. Though we could still put the cover back on the core, it only received a 7.9 out of 10 points.

Temperature (5/10)

In addition, the washing instructions for the Simba cover stated that a temperature of 40° C  was sufficient enough to clean it. However, given the need for a healthy sleep environment and comparing it to Emma’s and Tempur’s  instructions of 60° C , this temperature is not sufficient  enough to ensure the cover is entirely bacteria free. Taking all of this into account, we awarded the Simba Mattress 5 out of a possible 10 points in this category.

  • Ease of handling (5.4/10)

The ease of handling a mattress is based on two criteria: the weight of the mattress and the presence of handles. These two criteria are important, especially for people who may have increased difficulty moving the mattress.

Weight (6.8/10)

With a weight of 16.6 kg for a 90 x 190 cm, the Simba mattress was one of the lightest mattresses that we tested. For this, we awarded 6.8 out of a possible 10 points, since its still relatively heavy compared to other mattresses in the market.

Handles (1/10)

Since the mattress didn’t have handles, we weren’t able to give Simba full marks in this category.

Final thoughts: Simba Original Mattress 

All in all, the Simba mattress performed very we in certain categories such as support and spinal alignment. However, its protective cover did not entirely withstand our rigorous washing machine test. When comparing SimbaÂŽs test results to the test results of some of its competitors, Simba performed relatively well, receiving an average score of 6.8.

 


Simba Mattress Customer Service

 

Simba offers its customers both free delivery and returns, in addition to the 100-night trial and a 10-year warranty. So, it’s easy to return a mattress if it doesn’t suit all needs and meets requirements. Also, Simba offers interest free credit on orders over £250 and monthly installments can be spread over different duration. On top of that, Simba offers to pick up the old mattress for no additional fee. The customer service can be contacted via email, chat or telephone.

 


Simba Mattress General Use

 

When buying a new mattress, you will most likely have a number of questions. We answered some of the most popular questions customers tend to have about the Simba mattress.

 

Does the Simba mattress get softer?

Unfortunately, the Simba mattress didn’t fare too well in our durability test, so it’s highly likely that the feel of the mattress will change over time. After the rolling machine was used on the mattress, we noticed a considerable difference in the look of the mattress: there was a definite change in height.

 

Does the Simba mattress smell?

The Simba mattress had a definite smell when we opened it – much like the other foam mattresses we tested. However, we wouldn’t say this was particularly disturbing. The smell quickly evaporated after leaving the mattress to air in a ventilated room.

 

Can the Simba mattress cover be washed?

Yes, the Simba mattress has a cover that is easy to remove and easy to wash. However, we did notice that despite washing it at 40° as indicated by the company, the cover did slightly shrink. While the shrinkage wasn’t too noticeable and putting the cover back on the mattress wasn’t affected, this is something to keep in mind. If you wash the cover too often, it might impact the quality of the cover.

 

Does the Simba mattress need turning?

Much like many modern mattresses, the Simba mattress does not require turning. In fact turning the Simba could negatively impact the feel of the mattress. To get the most out of the mattress always ensure that the top side of the cover is facing up. That’ll allow you to get all the benefits of the mattress.

 

How long does it take for the Simba mattress to inflate?

When we unpacked the Simba mattress, it took roughly two hours for it to reach its intended height. We would recommend giving any bed-in-a-box mattress enough time to fully inflate before sleeping on it. In general it should take no more than a few hours.

 


Verdict: comfortable mattress

 

The Simba Hybrid Mattress is a very good mattress if people looking to buy their mattress online. It offers optimum support and a comfortable sleeping surface. The 5-layer construction not only gives sleepers a cool sleeping experience, but also molds to the body well. Unlike some of the other mattresses in this test, Simba does not produce its mattresses solely in the UK, but also uses factories in Poland.

Find out more on their website , or compare it to other brands of mattresses on this comparison page .

 

 

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Best matresses UK Top5 đŸ„‡ Find the best mattress
Average rating:  
 0 reviews

About Emily

Emily studied journalism and is extremely passionate about good sleep and has extensive knowledge of the mattress industry. She knows exactly what to look out for when buying a new mattress and knows what constitutes good customer service.

6.8 Good

Good