Emma Original Mattress Review for 2020

 

The Emma Mattress first hit the UK market in 2017. Since then, the brand has grown immensely and is now one of the most-sold¬†mattresses in the UK.¬†According to Emma Mattress, their goal is to create the best mattress for all body types: They developed their mattress using the latest technologies and by taking customer feedback into account. The Emma Brand also stands by its 100 nights trial period similar to many other online mattress brands.¬† Its¬† however worth mentioning that in light with the¬† current unpredictability times, Emma has extended their trial period to 200 nights. That way,¬†you don’t have to worry about having to make a quick decision about whether or not to keep your Emma products.

Clearly, all their efforts seem to have paid off: the Emma Original is the most-awarded mattress in the UK, having received numerous awards and endorsements from reputable agencies such as Which?, Good Housekeeping, The Independent, and Expert Reviews.

After putting it through our extensive testing, we believe this model to be one of the very best mattresses on the market. Not only is it wonderfully comfortable, but it also passed our tests with flying colors, coming out tops in our mattress comparison table. To find out why we believe the Emma is deserving of an impressive 8.8 read our Emma Original mattress review below.

                                                             Shop the Emma Mattress 

 


Emma Mattress Construction

The Emma Original mattress is made up of three foam layers and a removable top and bottom cover. Each layer is made from high-quality foams and has a range of different benefits:

Top cover: Made from humidity-regulating fibres that also wick moisture away.

Bottom cover: Breathable material allows for improved air circulation.

Top layer:¬†Emma’s own Airgocell¬†foam¬†is responsible for absorbing any¬† excess moisture throughout the night.¬†This foam layer is also¬†open pored¬†to ensure¬†air flows through the mattress smoothly and keeps the temperature¬†consistent.

Middle layer: Made from visco-elastic memory foam, this layer distributes pressure evenly by contouring to your body. The middle layer also allows for comfortable sleep in most sleeping positions and for most body types.

Bottom layer: The last layer, consisting of supportive HRX foam, keeps the spine aligned throughout the night. By providing counter support this layer also ensures the back is perfectly supported. This firm foam also ensures motion isolation, which means if you sleep next to a partner, you will not feel him or her moving on the mattress.

 

 


Emma Mattress Sizes and Best Mattress Prices

 

The Emma Original mattress is available in 8 different sizes and comes in both UK and EU sizes to fit everyone‚Äôs¬†preferences. The¬†price of the mattress is often equal to other similar mattress brands, however, one of the biggest highlights is the discounts Emma Mattress offers during big sale periods. In addition to this, just like some of Emma¬īs competitors, the delivery and return process is free and you¬†are able to¬†test the mattress for 100 nights with a 10-year guarantee.

 

Emma Mattress popular sizes and prices:

¬†Single¬†Mattress UK¬†‚Äď The UK single¬†Emma mattress measures 90 x 190¬†cm and¬†costs¬†¬†¬†¬£429

Small Double¬†Mattress UK¬†‚Äď The UK small double Emma mattress measures 120 x 190 cm and costs¬†¬£599

Double¬†Mattress¬†UK‚Äď The UK double¬†Emma mattress measures 135 x 190 cm and costs¬†¬£649

King¬†Size Mattress UK¬†‚Äď The UK king Emma mattress measures 150 x 200 cm and costs¬†¬£699

Super King¬†Size Mattress¬†UK‚Äď The UK super king Emma mattress measures 180 x 200 cm and¬†costs¬†¬£799

Single¬†Mattress¬†UK‚Äď The EU single Emma mattress measures 90 x 200 cm and costs¬†¬£449

Double¬†Mattress EU‚Äď The EU double Emma mattress measures 140 x 200 cm and costs¬†¬£699

King Mattress EU¬†‚Äď The EU king Emma mattress measures 160 x 200 cm and costs¬†¬£749

 

    Shop Now!

 


In-depth Emma Original Mattress Review

 

The Emma Original is one of the most popular mattresses on the market today. We put it to the test to find out just how good it is. After extensive testing we can confirm that the Emma Original mattress is just as good as all the reviews say. But why exactly do we think the Emma mattress is so  good? Read below to find out why the Emma Original received the top score on Top5 best mattresses.

 

  • Durability¬†(9.2/10)¬†

High-quality mattresses usually don‚Äôt come cheap. So, when you make the investment, you want to know that it will last a long time. That‚Äôs why we test the durability of the mattresses –¬† so you know exactly how long your mattress will last with regular use. Ideally, you should get¬†between 6 and 8 years of comfortable¬†sleep before the mattress starts to show signs of wear and tear.¬†In our thorough durability test, where we use machines to simulate 10-years of use, the Emma Original performed exceptionally well.

Even after simulating years of use using our state-of-the-art rolling machine, there were no discernible differences in the composition of the mattress. They were no signs that the structure of the mattress suffered or the foam deteriorated. That means that even over time your mattress will feel the same as it did on the day you got it. As this is a testament to the quality of the mattress, we gave it a very good 9.2 out of a possible 10 points.

  • Point elasticity (10/10)

If you share your bed with a partner you will need your mattress to have good point elasticity. Otherwise you might feel your partner moving around on the mattress. Depending on how often he or she moves, this can also disrupt your sleep or cause you to wake up. For this test, we use a test machine to determine whether the rest of the mattress is affected, if pressure is applied in one area. This measurement tells us how point elastic a mattress is.

The Emma Original mattress performed very well in this test and showed that it had good point elasticity. This means that the mattress compressed in one area without affecting the rest. As the Emma Original achieved some of the best result in our test, we awarded it a full 10 out of 10 points.

  • Ergonomics and Comfort¬† (8.0/10)

In order to assess how the mattress would support your body, particularly when you’re sleeping on your side or your back, we test the ergonomic properties of the mattress. This evaluation consists of two categories; ergonomics and viscoelasticity.

Ergonomics (8.0/10)

To determine how supportive the mattress is, we use our highly innovative test machine that has 20 weight attachments. Here, we look at how the mattress responds when these 20 indenters are lowered. We then compare this measurement to an optimum result. Our test showed that the Emma mattress’s measurement only deviated minimally from the optimum result, showing that this mattress has good ergonomic properties. For achieving a good score in this category,¬† we awarded the Emma Original 8.0 out of a possible 10 points.

Viscoelasticity (7.9/10)

In order for you to wake up feeling energized, you need to be able to easily turn on the mattress. For this,we test how viscoelastic a mattress is. Mattresses with a high viscoelasticity tend to make turning on the mattress more difficult. This isn’t ideal, as most people twists and turn frequently throughout the night. We found the Emma mattress to not only be very comfortable, but also quite easy to turn on. Irrespective of your body type, you will not¬†sink in too deeply and will be able to move around with minimal effort. For this, the Emma Original received 7.9 out of 10 points in this category.

  • Mattress Cover¬† (9.7/10)

Being able to remove the mattress cover is an important feature that mattresses should have. Washing the mattress cover is a great way to remove any stains or spills that might occur. In this category we look at what temperature the mattress cover can be washed at and also whether the cover shrinks after washing. Looking at both things separately, we came to the following conclusion:

Shrinkage (9.6/10)

After we washed the cover according to the instructions, we found that the mattress cover only shrunk minimally. It also did show any other signs that the quality of the mattress cover had suffered. For this, the Emma Original mattress received a near perfect 9.6 points.

Temperature (10/10)

The Emma mattress has a cover that is removable and can be washed at 60¬įC. We found removing the cover very easy thanks to the zip. Washing it was also super simple, since it can be put in any regular washing machine and didn‚Äôt require any specialist¬†cleaning. For being easy to wash and withstanding temperatures of 60¬įC we awarded Emma the full score.

  • Ease of use¬†(7.7/10)

We award points based on how easy the mattress is to transport. For this we evaluate the weight of the mattress and how easy it is to transport. Ideally you should be able to set up and move the mattress by yourself – especially if it is one of the smaller sizes.

Weight (6.9/10)

The Emma Original in the UK single size weighs 16.5 kg, which is one of the lightest mattresses we tested. At this weight, it can easily be transported with¬†fairly minimum¬†effort. However, as this weight is still rather hefty, especially if you’re not the strongest person. In this category the mattress received the best score of 6.9.

Handles (10/10)

The cover is also equipped with handles, which make moving the mattress much easier.  Though the placement and quality of the handles mean it’s best used to adjust the mattress on the bed frame rather than for transportation means, we believe this is a very important addition to the mattress. For this handy addition, we awarded the Emma Original 10 out of a possible 10 points in this category.

 

Final thoughts: Emma Original Mattress ‚Äď Top5‚Äôs best tested mattress for 2020

All in all, the Emma performed very well in all of the tests we performed, receiving a total score of 8.8. This makes the Emma Original mattress the best tested mattress in our technical tests.

 

View the Emma Original Mattress 

 


Mattress delivery and unboxing

 

We also look at how easy the ordering process is and how quickly you can set it up. The Emma mattress scored well in this regard. The website is easy to navigate and we were quickly able to select our desired size and proceed to payment. Emma offer all standard methods of payment, in addition to free financing, so we didn’t have any issues paying for our order. Unfortunately, the delivery time was somewhat long. However, once we received the mattress, we found it very easy to set up, especially thanks to the handy welcome package enclosed. The cutter made removing the foil very easy. It took less than 10 minutes to set up and watching it inflate was very impressive. It also reached its full height very quickly, which meant we were able to sleep on it almost immediately.

 

Does the Emma mattress smell?

Much like other memory foam mattresses, the Emma mattress does have a slight smell. The company acknowledges this and recommends airing the mattress out in a well-ventilated room. We followed their advice and let the Emma mattress air out in a room with the windows open. After a short while we couldn’t make out the smell anymore. So, yes, while the Emma mattress does smell, it also evaporates very quickly. And compared to other mattresses we tested, the smell wasn’t quite as strong.

 

What bed base can you put the Emma mattress on? 

The Emma mattress can be placed on any surface, as long as it’s clean and dry. That also includes the ground. We tried it on a number of different surfaces, such as the floor, a bed base with a slatted frame and also a regular divan. Although the differences were small, we felt that we received the most body support when we placed the mattress on a slatted frame. That’s mainly due to slatted bed frames offering additional support.

 


Emma Mattress General Use

 

We found the Emma Original mattress very easy to get on with. The handles make moving the mattress very easy and we were happy the cover had them. Other mattresses we tested did not have handles, which made placing the mattress on the bed base quite tricky.
Another thing we liked was that the Emma Original does not need to be flipped, only turned. The cover is also washable, so it’s easy to keep clean. Another thing we liked was that it wasn’t too heavy, so moving or transporting the mattress was not particularly difficult.
How do you clean the Emma mattress?
 
The Emma mattress doesn‚Äôt require much cleaning. Since it is made out of foam, it cannot get wet. So,¬†if any stains or spills occur it is best to remove them¬†with a damp cloth and a bit of soapy water. The mattress cover can¬†be¬†easily removed and¬†washed in a regular washing machine and at 60¬į, which is very handy.
Is the Emma mattress cover washable?

Yes,¬†it is.¬†Thanks to the zips, you can easily remove the cover and wash it at 60¬į C. After washing we didn‚Äôt notice any shrinkage in the cover, so it was easy to put back on.

 

How heavy is the Emma mattress?

The Emma mattress weighs between 15.6 and 32.8 kg, depending on which mattress size you purchase. We found that it wasn’t too heavy and was easily moved from the front door to the bedroom.

 

Which way does the Emma mattress go?

The Emma mattress needs to be placed with the white side of the cover facing up, as otherwise you will not get the full supportive and pressure-relieving effects. The breathable foam is also on the top. Placing the mattress with this side facing down will probably result in you not feeling its cooling effect.

 


Contact & Help | Emma Mattress customer service

In addition to being approved and awarded ‚ÄėBest buy‚Äô, Emma Mattress also has¬†excellent customer service. The company offers its customers the option to trial the mattress for 200-nights. So, if you don‚Äôt like the mattress, you can simply return it.¬†The Emma mattress also comes with a 10-year guarantee,¬† in addition to¬†free delivery and returns. Furthermore, Emma Mattress offers to pick up your old mattress and they work with Keen & Able, Debra and The British Heart Foundation for their returns. If you have any questions, Emma’s customer service agents can be reached via telephone, E-mail :[email protected] and chat. For any further query visit www.emma-mattress.co.uk

 


Verdict: The Emma Original is the best of its kind

 

The Emma Original mattress passed our mattress test with flying colours. We were thoroughly impressed with it. It is very well made, with the high quality very apparent and it is also extremely comfortable. Each of our test persons felt very supported and some even mentioned that their back pain had been relieved. We were also very impressed with how it fared during our extensive testing. It did exceptionally well in the durability test. This means that it should feel as good as new, even if you’ve had it for 8 or 10 years. The discount code also makes it a very reasonable price. All-in-all,  the Emma mattress was one of the very best mattresses we tried.

 

Get the best mattress

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Best matresses UK Top5 ūü•á Find the best mattress
Average rating:  
 2 reviews
by Fordie on Best matresses UK Top5 ūü•á Find the best mattress
Amazing sleep

Best night sleep in years...so comfortable whilst reading & sleeping.

by Mark on Best matresses UK Top5 ūü•á Find the best mattress
Best Mattress

Lovely mattress, Very comfortable - sleep improved. Like a marshmallow, but in a god way.- the best mattress I've owned so far!!

About Emily

Emily studied journalism and is extremely passionate about good sleep and has extensive knowledge of the mattress industry. She knows exactly what to look out for when buying a new mattress and knows what constitutes good customer service.

8.8 Excellent

Excellent